New Michael Jackson album to be released in May


New Michael Jackson album to be released in May (1)

Eight previously unreleased Michael Jackson songs, compiled into an album titled “Xscape” is set to hit stores on May 13.

The late King of Pop’s family has given L.A. Reid and Epic Records the green light to release XSCAPE, an album featuring eight previously unhead songs recorded by Michael Jackson before his death in 2009.

Epic Records and the singer’s estate announced on Monday that the album was executive produced by Epic chairman/CEO Antonio “L.A.” Reid with Timbaland serving as lead producer.

Reid said in a statement: “Modern music and artistry would look and sound completely different if not for the groundbreaking contributions Michael Jackson gifted to the world. Michael left behind some musical performances that we take great pride in presenting through the vision of music producers that he either worked directly with or expressed strong desire to work with. We are extremely proud and honoured to present this music to the world.

John Branca and John McClain, co-executors of Jackson’s estate, added: “Michael was always on the cutting edge and was constantly reaching out to new producers, looking for new sounds. He was always relevant and current. These tracks, in many ways, capture that spirit. We thank L.A. Reid for his vision.”

Michael Jackson’s death didn’t stop the sales of his back catalog. His posthumous soundtrack collection “This Is It” topped the charts in 2009, while the 2010 album “Michael” peaked at No. 3 on the album chart and eventually going platinum.

Xscape is slated for release on May 13, 2014. The title track, Xscape, was recorded for Jackson’s last studio album, 2001’s Invincible. The deluxe edition of the set will also include the original mixes of the unreleased tracks.

Photos by:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here