Barbra Streisand to receive Chaplin Award


Barbra Streisand is this year’s recipient of the Chaplin Award, the award named after Charlie Chaplin given annually.

Film Society’s board chairman Ann Tenenbaum announced the news, saying: “The Board is very excited to have Barbra Streisand as the next recipient of The Chaplin Award. She is an artist whose long career of incomparable achievements is most powerfully expressed by the fact that her acclaimed Yentl was the first full-length feature directed, acted, written and produced by an American woman. We welcome her to the list of masterful directors who have been prior recipients of the Chaplin Award Tribute.”

Streisand is a much deserving actress to be given this award. As stars goes, Barbra has taken up almost all departments in the entertainment industry from music to TV to film. She has won two Oscars, eight Grammys, a Special Tony Award and five Emmy Awards. Barbra stars alongside Seth Rogen in the comedy flick “The Guilt Trip,” which is still showing in the U.S.

Barbra Streisand will be presented with the award at the 40th Chaplin Gala in April, Film Society of Lincoln Centre announced. She joins a long list of prestigious Hollywood stars like Meryl Streep, Catherine Deneuve, Elizabeth Taylor, Dustin Hoffman, Martin Scorsese, and Alfred Hitchcock.

Photos by: FayesVision/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here